Gallery

Art is happening around here

Papier Collé… that is what I have been up to lately.   I have been calling it collage, but then I look out at the art called collage, and it is not really what I was doing.   I make my own paper, by dissolving the ink in high end magazines with a solvent called Citrasolv. So, my art is really made from textures and not figures or representations of anything.

I thought that maybe I would call it assemblage, as I wanted to add some found objects to the art, but I never did.  Well, perhaps I never went further than having a weak moment with a shaker full of glitter than defaced a piece that I thought was going abstract in a really sophisticated way. After the glitter “incident”  I had to draw a samurai girl in the anime style just because I felt that I gutted that one.  ha ha … I am trying to be funny not dramatic.   But, I really did think that a anime Samurai Girl was fitting for the piece. So, after that incident I decided not to “assemble” anything on my pieces.

Then, I thought I would just call my work “Mixed Media” as that is the lingo that is most commonly used to label this type of art today.  “Mixed Media” in art is like being a “Liberal Arts” major in college – It is a classy way of saying “I don’t know” what I declare.  So, rightfully so, my work is mixed media as I use acrylic paint, ink, paper, thread, transfers and fabric.  Lately, my work HAS been corse paper from old Farmers Almanacs, homemade glossy, ripped paper, and an expensive amount of Liquitex matt medium.  🙂

Today, however, I found the true way of describing my work.  The French always have a way of speaking of things in an elevated way.  In French, my work is referred to as Papier Collé  (French: pasted paper or paper cut outs) is a type of collage and collaging technique in which paper is adhered to a flat mount.  The difference between collage and papier collé is that the latter refers exclusively to the use of paper, while the former may incorporate other two-dimension (non-paper) components)  So THERE YOU HAVE IT!

This week I am a Mixed Media Artist of Papier Collé.  And, true to my personality, as soon as I figure out one thing I must move on to another.  I am going to finish my pieces in encaustic.  Of course Craig is concerned that I may burn the house down by burning hot wax all over the place, but he has given the green light to make the investment.

Well, that is my ramblings on finally figuring out how to label my medium.

I should add my Samurai photo to the post to make you chuckle.

Let me hear your thoughts! Thanks