Onions as a cure for congestion? What do you think?

Donna T’s Garden needs to plant some onions!
Besides tasting good, I have come to learn of another reason why onions are good for you! This post is just my personal observation, that is all. But, to me this observation is extremely valid because I ran the experiment not expecting anything to happen.

And the environment was “controlled” because I have lived in this same house for almost 29 years!  So, you can say that I have a bit of a “routine” built around living and sleeping in the same place for most of my life.

Since February, I have a new weekly tradition of cutting a large onion in  half and placing it on the floor, under my side of the bed.  I cook dinner with the other half.  Why?

For years, I wake up coughing  and congested. Some days so bad I get physically ill after coughing for more than 30 minutes, and that is a nasty way to start the day, trust me.  My little nephew has allergies and congestion and coughs  too. He has experience this  both here in California and now in Italy.  Their house in Ca was much, much, newer than ours it, and  their home in Italy is much, much, much older.  But you see… his situation was the same.

So, my sister-in-law took him to a Medical Doctor in Switzerland and the Doctor suggested cutting a large onion in half and placing it under his bed on the floor.  (I clarified the “medical Doctor” part of the recommendation and I heard her right!) After a week passes, you throw the onion away and replace it with a fresh one.   So, my sister-in-law suggested that I do the same thing.

What did I have to lose?  
I wanted to lose the rude awakening that I was experiencing on 3 out of 7 mornings of the week, especially in the winter months that transition into spring time.

So I have been doing this for several months now and just realized today, as I was replacing my old onion on Sunday morning, that I didn’t have these coughing fits anymore.
So the 28-year-old routine was broken!  Hmmm
And I didn’t just wish it away, because I tried many other things, and have tried to use the power of positive thinking many times.   And I was skeptical, but hey, what did I have to lose? Just a few onions.

So, this advise was worth a lot to me.
How easy!
In this day and age when Big Pharma is ruling the world and breaking the bank by charging people for drugs that take you from bad to worse, isn’t it nice to know that an old wives’  remedy known to the Swiss, the Greeks, and Native Americans can be so easy to implement.

So that is my experience.
It worked for my little nephew.
It worked for me.
Maybe it can work for someone else!

So, if you have experienced bronchial congestion and coughing especially at night and in the early morning, what have you got to lose?

I can’t smell the onion and it costs only pennies.
Well, that is my humble observation.

Many websites that I searched were negative (of course) but I did find one that acknowledged that people over the ages have used this plant for medicinal purposes for thousands of years on several continents. They even slice them and put them on the bottom of your feet overnight with socks on to hold them in place when you have the flu!  I haven’t done that yet, but who knows????  I may try it. After all, what else are you going to do while you wait around 7-10 days for the flu to pass?

Anyway, here is one link.
No one is trying to sell you onions or anything, 🙂
So I thought that I would share this link and my “onion” story.

http://www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/onion-flu-remedy/

2 responses to “Onions as a cure for congestion? What do you think?

  1. Thanks for sharing this! I really enjoyed reading the link. So, are you planting onions?

  2. Definitely!!!! :0 ) Do you know where I can purchase onion sets?

Let me hear your thoughts! Thanks

